Band on the Run
NewsCenter : Latest Beatle & McCartney News from
Please Wait

Loading Content
Next »

Concert for George now on BluRay - win a free copy!!

  • Source:
  • By: Mike Kovacich

MACCA-Central is running a contest to win a free copy of 

Concert for George  (BluRay)

Los Angeles, CA— CONCERT FOR GEORGE, the legendary tribute concert in honor of GEORGE HARRISON, is now available on Blu-ray. Originally released in High Definition, the CONCERT FOR GEORGE 2-disc Blu-ray will include the complete concert on the first disc, with a second disc containing the original theatrical version featuring concert highlights, interviews with the performers, rehearsals, and behind-the-scenes footage. The second disc will also include a previously unreleased interview segment entitled “Drummers,” featuring Ringo Starr, Jim Keltner and Ray Cooper.

CONCERT FOR GEORGE has been certified 8 times platinum by the RIAA since its initial release as a 2DVD set in November 2003 and earned a 2004 Grammy® Award for Best Long Form Music Video.

On November 29, 2002, one year after the passing of George Harrison, Olivia Harrison and longtime friend Eric Clapton organized a performance tribute in his honor. Held at London's Royal Albert Hall, the momentous evening featured George's songs, and music he loved, performed by a lineup that included Clapton, Jools Holland, Jeff Lynne, Paul McCartney, Monty Python, Tom Petty, Billy Preston, Ravi and Anoushka Shankar, Ringo Starr, Dhani Harrison and many more.

Directed by David Leland (whose credits include the feature Wish You Were Here, HBO’s Band Of Brothers and the Traveling Wilburys video “Handle With Care”), CONCERT FOR GEORGE captures stunning renditions of some of the most significant music of the 20th century, including “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” (featuring Clapton on guitar, McCartney on piano and Starr on drums), “Taxman” (performed by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers) and “The Inner Light” (covered by Jeff Lynne and Anoushka Shankar). Lynne, Harrison’s longtime friend and collaborator, produced the audio elements of the concert, while Clapton oversaw the entire proceedings as Musical Director.

Track Listing

  1. Your Eyes - Anoushka Shankar
  2. The Inner Light - Jeff Lynne & Anoushka Shankar
  3. Arpan - Conducted by Anoushka Shankar
  4. Sit On My Face – Monty Python
  5. The Lumberjack Song – Monty Python with Tom Hanks
  6. I Want To Tell You - Jeff Lynne
  7. If I Needed Someone - Eric Clapton
  8. Old Brown Shoe - Gary Brooker
  9. Give Me Love - Jeff Lynne
  10. Beware Of Darkness - Eric Clapton
  11. Here Comes The Sun - Joe Brown
  12. That’s The Way It Goes - Joe Brown
  13. Horse To The Water – Sam Brown
  14. Taxman - Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
  15. I Need You - Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
  16. Handle With Care - Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers with Jeff Lynne & Dhani Harrison
  17. Isn’t It A Pity - Billy Preston
  18. Photograph - Ringo Starr
  19. Honey Don’t - Ringo Starr
  20. For You Blue - Paul McCartney
  21. Something - Paul McCartney & Eric Clapton
  22. All Things Must Pass - Paul McCartney
  23. While My Guitar Gently Weeps - Paul McCartney & Eric Clapton
  24. My Sweet Lord - Billy Preston
  25. Wah Wah - Eric Clapton & Band
  26. I’ll See You In My Dreams - Joe Brown


Last Updated: 05/03/11 13:07

view comments Comments (1)

1 person has commented on this story so far. Tell us what you think below.
by Ivar Osmundsen : 5514-Haugesund, Norway May 14, 2011 1:25 PM EDT (Guest)  click to register
This is one of the best concerts I have ever seen!! I get tears in my eyes every time I see it. It`s FAB!!
 Reply to this comment -

Please enter your name, city, email and comment below:

Add a comment to this article:

Concert for George now on BluRay - win a free copy!!

  Enter your comment:
  You have  characters left.
Enter the text as it is shown below:
captcha This extra step helps prevent automated abuse of this feature. Please enter the characters exactly as you see them.

NOTE: The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Click here to review our Terms of Use. Report any abusive comments by clicking the report icon. This feature allows both website guests and members to participate. All comments currently are separate from the oBLOGdi-oBLOGda forums but a method is being worked on so comments are interchangable.


 Today in Beatle History:

Today in Beatle History

Search News Archive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the most from MACCA Central

Newsletter is under construction.

News Summary

MACCA-Central is running a contest to win a free copy of Concert for George (BluRay)