Sir Paul to host radio programme on Dec.7, 2006

This forum is to alert fans when Paul pops up on TV, radio, magazines, newspapers, websites.

Moderator: Mike

Sir Paul to host radio programme on Dec.7, 2006

Postby I am the Paulrus » Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:18 pm

Sir Paul to host radio programme on Dec.7, 2006

Macca: I want to hold someone's hand

Friday, December 1, 2006

http://www.metro.co.uk/fame/article.htm ... _page_id=7

Sir Paul McCartney says he can get so emotional that he needs someone to hold his hand.

The ex-Beatle makes the comment on Classic FM, where he is making his debut as a guest presenter. Sir Paul, 64, who is hosting his own morning show next Thursday and guesting throughout the day, tells listeners that music has been a "great therapy".

The star, going through a bitter divorce battle with Heather Mills McCartney, says: "Inevitably moods and feelings and emotions find their way into your music, whether you like it or not.

"You can't help it. It's the nature of the beast. When I first started composing, one of the great things was if you were feeling a bit down or if you were angry or something you could go off into a corner with your guitar and just start playing something.

"It was almost like a therapy. You'd work through this feeling.

"You'd put it in the music, you'd start caressing the guitar, there was this soothing aspect and in the end you'd come out with an answer and you'd feel better.

"That again is one of the great things for me and I know a lot of composers who find it. It's a great therapy."

Sir Paul began composing his newly-released classical work Ecce Cor Meum before his first wife Linda died but stopped work on it for two years because of his grief.

He finished the lyrics around six years ago and the album, which translates as Behold My Heart, is dedicated to Linda, who died from breast cancer in 1998.

The singer says: "I'm a family man so that is the root of it all for me.

"And in Ecce Cor Meum there are some bits in it that are very emotional for me, that have memories of certain moments.

"So to have your family and friends around when I'm going through these sort of emotional moments, memories of certain things that happened during the making of Ecce, is very valuable, and just to have someone next to you to hold your hand because they know this is going to get you.

"It's good to have someone there who knows (that) you're going to need a little bit of emotional support during this."

Classic FM is clearing its schedule to feature the ex-Beatle's classical works on its Paul McCartney Day.

The musician will be playing a selection of his classical favourites, including his own work, for two hours from 11am.

Sir Paul says: "I'm fulfilling one of my ambitions to present on radio."

Classic FM station manager Darren Henley said: "Sir Paul is one of the very few pop superstars to have successfully re-invented himself as a credible classical composer.

"He's a musical legend and we're delighted to have him as one of the team on Classic FM."
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Paul McCartney Takes Over Classic FM

http://www.classicfm.com/Article.asp?id ... &spid=9448

Classic FM is pleased to announce a day of special shows featuring Sir Paul McCartney. Tune into the station on Thursday 7th December to hear Sir Paul choose some of his favourite classical tracks and hear the first live recording of 'Ecce Cor Meum'.



Don't miss our special Paul McCartney programme from 11am - 1pm when Paul presents his own show and keep your ears peeled throughout the day when we play music from his latest album 'Ecce Cor Meum' and he discusses his music.

From 6.30pm join reporter Bob Jones on Classic Newsnight for a special Liverpool Legacy report when Paul discusses his love of Liverpool. And at 8pm don't miss the hour-long In Conversation With Anne-Marie Minhall special when Paul talks about his latest release 'Ecce Cor Meum'.

For the next three hours sink into your armchair and enjoy the all-Paul McCartney Evening Concert with Nick Bailey, featuring an exclusive recording of the world premiere of 'Ecce Cor Meum', which was recorded at the Royal Albert Hall on 3 November. Paul will also be popping in to tell Nick Bailey what it was like on the night and keep your ears peeled for the full play of 'Standing Stone'.

Evening Concert Running Order:

McCartney: Standing Stone
Lawrence Foster conducts London Symphony Orchestra & Chorus.

McCartney: Tuesday
Andrea Quinn conducts the London Symphony Orchestra.

McCartney: Nova
Peter Broadbent conducts A Joyful Company of Singers.

McCartney: Ecce Cor Meum (LIVE)
Kate Royal - soprano. Gavin Greenaway conducts the Academy of St Martins In The Fields, London Voices, the boys Of Magdalen College Choir, Oxford and Boys of King’s College Choir, Cambridge.


Paul McCartney Day on Classic FM, Thursday 7th December 2006 @ 11am UK time, 6am EST, 5am CST, 4am MT, 3am PT.

Hear it here:
http://rope.icgo.fimc.net/staticweb/ona ... d=9448&end
ImageImage
User avatar
I am the Paulrus
Silver member
Silver member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 4:10 pm

Postby I am the Paulrus » Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:52 pm

Paul will be interviewed for 1 hr. at 8pm Uk time, 3pm ET, 2pm CT, 1pm MT, 12pm PT. He'll be talking about his career, Ecce Cor Meum, and other things. Listen here:
http://rope.icgo.fimc.net/staticweb/ona ... d=9448&end
ImageImage
User avatar
I am the Paulrus
Silver member
Silver member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 4:10 pm


Return to MACCA In-The-Media

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest