Paul McCartney's 'Ecce Cor Meum,' Live in Concert on NPR

This forum is to alert fans when Paul pops up on TV, radio, magazines, newspapers, websites.

Moderator: Mike

Paul McCartney's 'Ecce Cor Meum,' Live in Concert on NPR

Postby I am the Paulrus » Mon Nov 13, 2006 5:42 pm

Paul McCartney's 'Ecce Cor Meum,' Live in Concert on NPR

Paul McCartney's 'Ecce Cor Meum,' Live in Concert on NPR

Listen Online Tuesday, November 14 at 7:30 p.m. ET, 6:30 p.m. CST, 5:30 p.m. MT, 4:30 p.m. PST, 1:30 a.m. UK time at http://www.npr.org

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/stor ... Id=6468926

Image


NPR.org, November 10, 2006 · Legendary pop star Paul McCartney has sold untold millions of albums with The Beatles and Wings, as well as in his prolific solo career. Though he's dabbled in classical music before, Ecce Cor Meum marks one of his most conceptually and logistically audacious projects: a work written in the style of sacred English choral music, a tradition dating back 500 years. On Nov. 14, NPR.org -- in collaboration with member station WNYC -- will present a live webcast of the only U.S. performance of Ecce Cor Meum, taking place at New York's Carnegie Hall from 7:30 to 10 p.m. ET.

A piece of spiritual music, written in part right after the passing of his wife Linda, Ecce Cor Meum is the first piece of choral music McCartney has written to include a children's chorus. Hosted by NPR's Fred Child and WNYC's John Schaefer, the special will also include an interview with McCartney during intermission.

The Program

I. McCartney songs performed in classical style

"My Love" -- featuring Kate Royal and the Loma Mar Quartet

"Warm and Beautiful" -- featuring Kate Royal and the Loma Mar Quartet

"Calico Skies" -- featuring Kate Royal, Andy Staples and the Loma Mar Quartet

"Golden Earth Girl" -- featuring Andy Staples and the Loma Mar Quartet

"Some Days" - featuring Andy Staples and the Loma Mar Quartet

"Junk" - featuring Kate Royal, Andy Staples and the Loma Mar Quartet

II. Classical pieces by McCartney

"Nova" -- performed by the small Chamber Orchestra

"The World You're Coming Into" -- featuring Kate Royal

"Ghost Suite" -- featuring Kate Royal and Andy Staples

"Celebration" -- featuring Kate Royal and Andy Staples

Intermission, featuring an interview with McCartney

III. American premiere of Paul McCartney’s Ecce Cor Meum

Gavin Greenaway, conductor

Kate Royal, soprano

Orchestra of St. Luke’s

Concert Chorale of New York

American Boy Choir

Colm Carey, organ
ImageImage
User avatar
I am the Paulrus
Silver member
Silver member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 4:10 pm

Postby I am the Paulrus » Wed Nov 15, 2006 3:07 am

For those of you who missed the performance, you can hear a playback of it and a seperate interview with Sir Paul, himself, here:

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/stor ... Id=6468926
ImageImage
User avatar
I am the Paulrus
Silver member
Silver member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 4:10 pm


Return to MACCA In-The-Media

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron